Another page in the book

“The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page” – Saint Augustine

Growing up in a family that took much pride in traveling and experiencing the world, I’ve always had a love for traveling to new places. During winter break I received the email from Dr. Ogawa stating that I was going to be one of the Tomodachi Kakehashi Inouye Scholars and I couldn’t be more ecstatic. I hadn’t gone on an international trip since high school and going to Japan was somewhere I always wanted to go to. Let’s just say my last collegiate spring break was going to be the best one yet. Weeks after our trip I have nothing but good words to say about the trip and Japan. Trying to pin point one thing that was the best part is very hard for me, considering that everything was so memorable.

IMG_7935

Although we went on many different tours and saw as much as we could, there were a few places that stuck out to me. Starting with the Japanese Overseas Migration Museum and Japanese folk houses we were able to grasp the history of Japan, it was amazing to see the amount of stories and artifacts that pertained to Hawaii as well. I was amazed at how technologically advanced everything in Japan was and how innovative their products were. From seeing the Toyota Motors Kyushu factory and Yasakawa Electric Museum, I couldn’t help but become even more excited about what kind of products there are to be offered globally because of how advanced everything in the facilities were.

Additionally, the food was always something that I enIMG_8279joyed about the trip. The ramen, udon, and sashimi were only a few of my favorite food items we got to try. Even the McDonalds in Japan had a variety of different foods and showed off the culture. I always looked forward to every meal we had in Japan because I knew it would be something well cooked and of course, aesthetically pleasing.

Overall, my time in Japan with the other Tomodachi Kakehashi Inouye Scholars is a trip thfullsizeoutput_372at I will never forget. I went on the trip not knowing one person and somehow after a few days it felt as if I knew them my entire collegiate career. To be able to travel and immerse myself in different cultures is something I aspire to do my entire life. I can’t wait to go back and use everything I’ve learned in the Human Resource Management field in the near future.

 

Leave a Reply

