Lihau Fujihara

FullSizeR

Lihau Fujihara

Family Resources Major / American Studies Minor
Class of 2018
I am a fifth-generation Japanese American who was born and raised in Kahului, Maui. Originally, my family name was “Fujiwara”. However, the name was changed to “Fujihara” for unknown reasons. I am currently employed as an informal recreation manager at the Warrior Recreation Center (fitness center at UH Manoa), and I also schedule the fitness classes that are held there. I look forward to participating in the TOMODACHI Inouye Scholars program because I am interested in learning more about Japan and its unique and admirable culture. Also, having both Japanese and Hawaiian blood, I feel this scholarship would be a great opportunity for me to learn a little more about my Japanese heritage. Since I was born and raised in Hawaii, I was exposed more to a Hawaiian culture rather than a Japanese one.
Leave a Reply

